Lytton Chamber of Commerce  

Two Museums

We Flaunt Our History

Few small communities can boast two stunning museums with relics, documents, and photographs spanning more than 150 years.

As one of the earliest thriving communities in British Columbia, Lytton displays its history proudly.

 

Lytton Chinese History Museum

In 1881 a temple was built on Main Street as a focal point for all the Chinese in the area. It served as a guesthouse, community meeting space, and place of religion.

This Museum is a reconstruction of the 1881 Chinese Temple and was officially opened in May 2017.

Although not a functioning temple, it is a respectful of the religious significance of the earlier temple and includes an altar and area for study and meditation.

Historical displays bring recognition to the early Chinese influence in Lytton and the Fraser and Thompson River Canyons and create greater awareness of the historic links between the Chinese community, the First Nations community and other local residents.

The ‘Lytton Joss House’ is recognized as a historic place with provincial and national significance.

The brainchild of Lytton resident Lorna Fandrich, it is located at 145 Main Street and is open daily during the summer months and by special request during the remainder of the year.

Click here to go to the Chinese Museum website.

Lytton Museum & Archives

Be sure to visit both museums

Lytton’s location at the confluence of the Fraser and Thompson Rivers made it an important location for First Nations people for food gathering and for explorers finding their way to the west coast.

As it grew, it became a provisioning point for miners following the lure of the gold rush and the railways connecting our country east to west.

Housed in an ex-company house on Fraser Street, next door to the public swimming pool and Visitor Info Centre, it was originally built by the Canadian National Railway as a residence in 1942

It is operated entirely by volunteers, with paid help during the summer months.

Thompson First Nations People 1880’s

Marie Heaster is the Curator and Archivist, and Peter Heaster is the President of the Museum, which is a commission of the Village of Lytton.

 Click here to go to the museum website.