Lytton Chamber of Commerce  

A Very Brief History of Lytton

 

Lytton was a vibrant community in 1912

Lytton’s past is closely linked to the Thompson and Fraser Rivers that converge here. The First Nations people called this merging of two great rivers “kumsheen,” which means “the great forks.”

For more than 10,000 years, First Nations people lived near the rivers, relying on them for food and using them for transportation, as corridors for their footpaths, and as convenient places to build their villages.

Archaeological sites provide evidence that the winter homes of the First Nations people were constructed on benches above the river, always within easy access of the water.Hundreds of sites have been identified beside the Thompson and Fraser, and the present site of Lytton was used continuously for almost 10,000 years.

Lytton in 1865

In 1808, Simon Fraser and his men descended the river that now bears his name. He was the first recorded European to contact the First Nations people in the Interior. When he arrived at The Forks, more than 1200 Interior Salish Indians came to meet him and shake his hand.